Southern Border Wall

Oklahoma Sen. Lankford Demands Biden Rescind Amnesty Order, Restore Border Security

Southern Border Wall
Southern Border Crossing (File)

As the Biden administration and US citizens continue to grapple with the ongoing border crisis, a group of Republican senators have taken a firm stance, urging the President to rescind his executive order offering amnesty to illegal immigrants immediately.

This coalition, led by Senator James Lankford of Oklahoma, has sounded the alarm, warning that this policy move will only exacerbate the chaotic situation at the southern border, undermining national security in the process.

In a letter Friday to President Biden, Senator Lankford, and his colleagues expressed grave concerns over the administration’s proposal to grant amnesty to undocumented immigrants currently present in the United States.

Read: Florida Sens. Scott And Rubio Rip Biden For ‘Election-Year Gimmick’ On The Border

The senators argue that this action directly contravenes the immigration laws passed by Congress, further fueling the border crisis that has spiraled out of control under Biden’s watch.

“We have previously challenged the legality of your Administration’s parole authority and have sought to reform this authority to ensure that decisions regarding parole are restored to Congress’ original intent – “on a case-by-case basis” to aliens who are not already present in the US. 

“Under your Administration, the parole authority has been unlawfully used to circumvent screening and vetting, mass parole of illegal aliens after the cartels surge caravans at the border, and to circumvent normal refugee processing. These actions undermine the immigration laws Congress has passed, and they have eroded the rule of law at our southern border.

Read: Known Illegal Border Crossings Surpass 10 Million Since Fiscal 2021: CBP

“Border security is national security, and our adversaries will continue to take advantage of the chaos your Administration created by announcing this policy. We urge you to rescind this policy immediately and focus your efforts on securing our border against the cartels and adversaries who will welcome this chaos,” the Members concluded. 

Senators John Thune (R-SD), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Ted Budd (R-NC), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Cornyn (R-TX), John Kennedy (R-LA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), John Hoeven (R-ND), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mike Crapo (R-ID), and Thom Tillis (R-NC). 

Help support the Tampa Free Press by making any small donation by clicking here.

Android Users, Click To Download The Tampa Free Press App And Never Miss A Story. Follow Us On Facebook and Twitter. Sign up for our free newsletter.

Login To Facebook To Comment