Rep. Larry Bucshon (File)

Indiana Rep. Larry Bucshon Joins Long List Of Republican Lawmakers Leaving Congress

Rep. Larry Bucshon (File)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (File) By Jake Smith, DCNF.
daily caller the free press

Republican Indiana Rep. Larry Bucshon announced Monday that he will be retiring from Congress, one of many Republican lawmakers planning to leave Congress in 2024.

Bucshon, a 14-year congressman, decided over the holiday season that he will not seek reelection to his seat in the 2024 congressional elections, according to a statement posted by the legislator on Monday.

Bucshon is one among many Republican lawmakers who have either resigned from their roles early or have decided not to seek reelection to their seats in 2024.

Read: Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz Calls For Hearing On Secretary Lloyd Austin’s Hospitalization Hush

“It became clear to me over the Christmas holiday with much discernment and prayer that the time has come to bring my season in public service to a conclusion,” Bucshon said in a statement Monday. “Therefore, I will not seek reelection to an eighth term and conclude my service in the House of Representatives at the end of the 118 Congress.”

Buschon recalled his 14 years of service in Congress and issued statements of thanks to those who supported his political career. Bucshon also said that “recent disputes in Congress and difficulties advancing policy on behalf of the American people” had not undermined his confidence in democracy.

Bucshon is one of several Republican lawmakers in both the House and Senate to announce his retirement from Congress going into 2024. Colorado Rep. Doug Lamborn announced his retirement from Congress on Friday, one day after Missouri Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer announced his retirement.

Ohio Rep. Bill Johnson announced Tuesday that he would be resigning from his role early on Jan. 21, having accepted another job offer. Former Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy resigned early from his congressional seat at the end of 2023.

Read: House GOP’s Majority To Shrink Further After Ohio Rep. Johnson Announces Resignation

Several Democratic lawmakers are also retiring from Congress in 2024, including Michigan Rep. Dan Kildee, Virginia Rep. Jennifer Wexton, Maryland Sen. Ben Cardin and West Virginia Sen. Joe Manchin, according to the House Press Gallery.

Republicans currently maintain only a two-seat majority in the House following McCarthy’s resignation and former New York Rep. George Santos’ expulsion from Congress. That majority will drop to one seat after Johnson resigns and House Majority Leader Steve Scalise undergoes cancer treatment, which will keep him out of Congress temporarily.

The NRCC did not immediately respond to the Daily Caller News Foundation’s request for comment.

Android Users, Click To Download The Free Press App And Never Miss A Story. Follow Us On Facebook and Twitter. Sign up for our free newsletter. 

We can’t do this without your help. Visit our GiveSendGo page and donate any dollar amount; every penny helps.

Login To Facebook To Comment
Share This: